May 23, 2024

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

Let’s begin this roundup with one of the most iconic Rolex models. The Datejust might not be the first watch most readers think of when Rolex is mentioned, but it is certainly one of Rolex’s most important and ubiquitous watches. It is one of those watches that is surely guaranteed a place if there was a horological Hall of Fame just by sheer longevity and popularity.

Last year, Rolex introduced a new Datejust model called the Datejust 41, and it has been on my mind since. To me, it looks more well-proportioned than the Datejust II. For all the new Datejust 41 models, the Ref. 126333 Rolesor model with the Jubilee bracelet is my favorite, and we have an in-depth, long-term review of that exact model.

Rolex aside, we also take a closer look at IWC’s new Da Vinci Perpetual Calendar Chronograph watch, Bulgari’s ultra-thin Octo Finissimo Tourbillon Skeleton watch, and Bremont’s two new dive watches, the Supermarine S300 and S301. To round things up, we talk about the thorny subject of watch prices and how some brands might just be pricing themselves out of the market.

1. Rolex Datejust 41 Watch Long-Term Review

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

Last year, Rolex introduced a new Datejust model called the Datejust 41. At 41mm, the new Datejust 41 shares the same case size as the Datejust II that was introduced way back in 2009. However, it features subtle refinements that make it more classy and elegant as compared to the Datejust II. Also new in this watch is the movement. The new Rolex Caliber 3235 in the Datejust 41 has a longer power reserve of 70 hours and features Rolex’s new Chronergy escapement system. So is the new Datejust 41 a hit or miss? Find out what Ariel thinks in this long-term review.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

2. IWC Da Vinci Perpetual Calendar Chronograph Watch Hands-On

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

For 2017, IWC updated its Da Vinci collection with a new round case, and it has been quite warmly received. It might look a tad ornate, but I quite like the new case design. One of the most complicated watches in the Da Vinci collection is the Da Vinci Perpetual Calendar Chronograph, which, as you might have guessed, combines the perpetual calendar complication with a chronograph. One of the highlights of this watch for me is the hour and minute totalizer at 12 o’clock, which also combines a moon phase indicator against an exquisite backdrop of stars.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

3. Bulgari Octo Finissimo Tourbillon Skeleton Watch Hands-On

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

In the past couple of years, Bulgari began making a serious push in watchmaking and we are beginning to see some of the fruits of this effort. In particular, Bulgari seems to be going after Piaget in making some of the world’s thinnest watches. Last year, the brand launched the Octo Finissimo Minute Repeater, which at just 6.85mm thick, makes it the world’s thinnest minute repeater watch. And in 2014, Bulgari also successfully created the world’s thinnest tourbillon watch in the Octo Finissimo Tourbillon. And the watch you see here is the latest skeletonized version of that watch, the Octo Finissimo Tourbillon Skeleton watch. At just 5mm thick, the Octo Finissimo Tourbillon Skeleton still remains fantastically thin but allows its lucky owners full view of the magnificent movement within.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

4. How To Understand ‘Swiss Made’ & Switzerland’s Watchmaking Culture

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

Switzerland is generally regarded to be the epicenter of fine watches, and there is lots of evidence beyond the obvious to suggest that is true. Many of the world’s most prominent watch brands are not only headquartered in Switzerland but also have their workshops and factories in Switzerland. In addition, Switzerland continues to lead the world in terms of watch exports by value, despite their much smaller production numbers. Obviously, history has a large role to play in this, but also because Swiss culture has some very unique quirks that lend itself well to watchmaking. Read this to better understand Swiss watchmaking and what it really means to be “Swiss Made.”

Source: aBlogtoWatch

5. Bremont Supermarine S300 & S301 Dive Watches Hands-On

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

Whenever someone asks me to recommend an honest-to-god, hardcore, no-nonsense tool watch, Bremont is one of the brands that comes to mind. Based in England, Bremont makes some of the hardiest watches that I know. Their Martin-Baker watches, for example, are subjected to tests where they are put through 18G of G-forces and are tested at temperatures of up to -/+ 40 degrees Celsius. Their Supermarine watches are not very much different, featuring hardened cases and chronometer-certified movements. Recently, the brand bolstered their Supermarine lineup with two new watches – the S300 and S301 – which have a somewhat subtle vintage vibe. Take a closer look at them here.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

6. A. Lange & Söhne Grand Lange 1 Moon Phase ‘Lumen’ Watch Hands-On

BEST FROM: aBlogtoWatch & Friends March 10, 2017 ABTW Round-Ups

The Grand Lange 1 Moon Phase ‘Lumen’ watch is one of the most unusual watches from A. Lange & Söhne. As its name probably tells you, it is a Grand Lange 1 Moon Phase watch but with luminescent material – most A. Lange & Söhne watches do not feature lume. Add that to the special semi-transparent sapphire crystal and what you end up with is the Grand Lange 1 Moon Phase watch that looks remarkably sporty and also provides quite a light show in the dark.

Source: aBlogtoWatch

Next, our article picks from around the Web »

Pages: 1 2

SOURCE:http://www.ablogtowatch.com/best-watch-articles-roundup-march-10-2017/